Leave a comment

Heavy Groove – Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

Hey, yep, still alive. This is my blog, not much as you can see. Yeah, yeah, pretty shitty I know…

But that’s not what really matters here. Everyday is a new band, the bet is still up, so let’s get going:
(If this is your first post, well, I made a bet with a ‘friend’ of mine, which is basically for 60 days, I have to show you a new band everyday, (This is the 54th band, I guess) so far so good. Until I get back to college next week, so, Batman Help Us All.)

Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears.

Original from Texas, Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears makes music like no other band I’ve ever seen with such powerful influences of soul, R&B and the good old rock. Altogether.

Altogether is maybe a term that can define them pretty well. The whole band makes a wonderful job, it wouldn’t give the same feel with only Black Joe.
It’s something pretty particular, a detail, but makes the band unique. Take Charles Bradley for example, (My second post on this blog.) he plays with The Menaham Street Band, which is a great band by the way, but if you replaced them by The Budos Band (The first post band.), a very similar group, maybe you wouldn’t even notice. Not that The Menaham Street Band is mediocre band, they are great, but along C. Bradley, they are just another soul group.

Black Joe takes it to another level, he depends on the band, and the band depends on him. With this whole symbiosis, we have Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears.

With you loved the band and have some patience, read this article about the beginning of the whole thing. And as always, buy/download it, just make sure to enjoy. (They have two great albums, Tell ‘Em What Your Name Is!, and Scandalous.)

This is it, for today. Hope I’ll see you tomorrow, (What’s that supposed to mean?) if not, well, the ninjas got me. C’yall.

Leave a comment